Search Site

This search form uses an instant search feature. As you type, search results will appear automatically below the search field. When you've entered you desired search terms use tab to navigate through the available results and hit enter to open the selected page or document.
AHS Commencement 2020
AHS Commencement 2020
Nikki Thomas
Thursday, May 14, 2020

Arkadelphia High School will graduate 119 seniors Saturday, May 16, at Arkadelphia High School. The ceremony is private and for the families of graduates only, due to health department restrictions. The awarding of diplomas will begin at 10:00 a.m.

The Summa Cum Laude speech will be given by Sydney Marie Motl. Motl is the daughter of Casey and Lori Motl. She attends First Baptist Church in Arkadelphia where she is a member of the youth group. Motl is a member of the Color Guard with the Arkadelphia High School Band. She is the captain of the women’s swim team and the debate team. Motl is also on the tennis and quiz bowl teams. She is a member of the Beta Club and is the Senior Class representative on the AHS Student Council.

The seniors chose Ashley Wesley, Business Education Teacher, to deliver the faculty challenge, which will be responded to by 2019-20 Student Council President, Yebo Foti Moyo.

Summa cum laude graduates have earned a GPA of 4.001 or better and a composite ACT score of 21 or better with no sub scores lower than 19. Summa cum laude graduates at the time of publication include the following: Callaway Arnold Batson, Brynn Elise Clark, Caleb Ray Cornelius, Lunden Aaron Cotton, Kristen Grace Curtis, Olivia Christine Dixon, Aisha Faiq, Wyatt Dillon Forthman, Sawyer James Goodrum, Madison Kelli Green, McKinley Faith Green, Aryanna Nacole Gutierrez, Patrick Timothy Hayes, Lorenzo Jermaine Lawson, Lynli Caroline Lowry, Hannah Kaitlyn More, Sydney Marie Motl, Yebo Foti Moyo, Cannon Russell Turner, Cole Daniel Turner.

Graduates who achieve Magna cum laude (GPA of 3.750 to 4.000 and a composite ACT score of 20 or better with no sub score lower than 19), Cum laude (GPA of 3.500 to 3.749 and a composite ACT score of 19 or better with no sub score lower than 19), and/or Advanced Diploma status will wear medallions during the ceremony. 

Senior class officers will direct the welcome, the Pledge of Allegiance, the introductions of Motl  and Wesley, and the closing. Officers include Patrick Timothy Hayes, President, Sawyer James Goodrum, Vice President, Gunner Fitch Johnson, Secretary, Aisha Faiq, Treasurer, and Olivia Christine Dixon, Reporter.

Due to the COVID-19 Pandemic, Commencement will be a drive through ceremony with the graduate’s family watching from their car. The Ceremony will be live streamed on the Arkadelphia Public Schools and Arkadelphia High School facebook pages. The Colors on display will be  provided by the Arkadelphia JROTC.  The AHS Band, under the direction of Aaron Seel, would traditionally play the processional and the alma mater.  Diplomas will be awarded by Dr. Karla Neathery, Superintendent of the Arkadelphia Public Schools, and Ms. Nikki Thomas, Principal of AHS. Assisting with the diplomas will be Mr. Trent Smith, AHS Assistant Principal.

Escorts (not present at the ceremony) for the Class of 2020 will be juniors who have earned the top grade points and include the following: Caroline Bennington, Rachel Bosley, Carson Craft, Danny Curl, Taylor Dunkelgod, Kyla Elgas, Lily Kesterson, Haylee McClain, Shepherd Molinari, Madison Morris, Kerigan Overturf, and Dave Rohant.