Search Site

This search form uses an instant search feature. As you type, search results will appear automatically below the search field. When you've entered you desired search terms use tab to navigate through the available results and hit enter to open the selected page or document.
2018 AHS Commencement Information
Arkadelphia Public Schools
Tuesday, May 08, 2018

Arkadelphia High School will graduate 118 seniors Saturday, May 19 at the Duke Wells HPER Gymnasium on the campus of Henderson State University, according to Principal David Maxwell. The ceremony begins at 10 a.m.

The Summa Cum Laude speech will be given by Taylor Drake Savage. Taylor is the son of Rob and Leann Savage. Savage attends Second Baptist Church where he is a member of the youth group. He is a member of the Arkadelphia High School Band and Soccer Team, a diver for the Swim Team, and a member of the Beta Club and National Honor Society. 

The seniors chose Steve Patterson, English teacher, to deliver the faculty challenge, which will be responded to by 2017-18 Student Council President, Allison Elizabeth Harris.

Summa cum laude graduates have earned a GPA of 4.001 or better and a composite ACT score of 21 or better with no sub scores lower than 19. Summa cum laude graduates at the time of publication include the following: Tanner Cole Adams, Waylon Lee Cargile, Jimmy Amador Castro, Jr., Mollie Elizabeth Daniell, Fateemah Zuhra Faiq, Keaton Eli Goodrum, Allison Elizabeth Harris, Scott James Holbrook, Jordan Wayne Jarboe, Blanton Coakley Matthews, William O’Neal Matthews, Taylor Drake Savage, Kacie Nicole Thomas, and Haley Cathryn Zeiler. 

Parents of these graduates and of those who achieve Magna cum laude (GPA of 3.750 to 4.000 and a composite ACT score of 20 or better with no sub score lower than 19), Cum laude (GPA of 3.500 to 3.749 and a composite ACT score of 19 or better with no sub score lower than 19), Honor Graduates (GPA of 3.500 or above but without required ACT scores) and/or Advanced Diploma status will present medallions to their children who have earned these distinctions.

Senior class officers will direct the welcome, the Pledge of Allegiance, the introductions of Savage and Patterson, and the closing. Officers include Khennedy Amanda Diane Brunson, President; Fateemah Zuhra Faiq, Vice President; Allison Elizabeth Harris, Secretary; Haley Cathryn Zeiler, Treasurer; and Mollie Elizabeth Daniell, Reporter. Jamaiah Katrice Brumfield, highest ranking choir graduate, will lead the “Alma Mater.”

Commencement will be opened by the AHS JROTC Color Guard. The AHS Band, under the direction of Jim Lloyd, will play the processional and the alma mater. Diplomas will be awarded by Dr. Donnie Whitten, superintendent of the Arkadelphia Public Schools, and Mr. David Maxwell, Principal of AHS. Assisting with the diplomas will be Ms. Cheryl Merk and Ms. Nikki Thomas, assistant AHS principals, and Mr. Trent Smith, Dean of Students. 

Escorts for the Class of 2018 will be juniors who have earned the highest GPAs and include the following: Mary Jane Adame, Samuel Coventry, Caroline Derby, Hannah Fenocchi, Sumner Huerkamp, Nicholas Levar, Owen Phillips, Alec Ruble, Diana Summerville, Victor Tademy, Joshua Wallace, and Andrew Webb.

Arkadelphia Public Schools serves more than 2,000 students in Clark County, Arkansas, ranging from 6-weeks-old through college- and career-readiness - and is home of the Arkadelphia Promise.

APS News