Patrick Hayes of Arkadelphia High School is among a select group of rising high school seniors chosen as a member of the 40th Arkansas Governor’s School. 

Founded in 1979 by Gov. Bill Clinton, Arkansas Governor’s School serves up to 400 selected students from around the state during the summer before their senior year in high school. The 2019 Arkansas Governor’s School is scheduled for July 7-Aug. 3 on the Arkansas Tech University campus in Russellville. 

The Arkansas Department of Education gifted and talented programs administrator supervises Arkansas Governor’s School with assistance from an advisory council appointed by the governor. 

ATU is hosting Arkansas Governor’s School for the first time in 2019. On-campus leadership for the program is provided by Dr. Robin Lasey, associate professor of chemistry at ATU, and Dr. Jeff Woods, professor of history at ATU. They are assisted by a committee of ATU faculty, staff and students that includes representation from Arkansas Governor’s School alumni. 

For more information about Arkansas Governor’s School, visit, send e-mail to or call (479) 968-0391. 

AHS junior Patrick Hayes was one of a select group of rising seniors from across the state of Arkansas selected to participate in the 40th Arkansas Governor's School this summer at Arkansas Tech University in Russellville.