Arkadelphia High School will graduate 120 seniors in a ceremony set for 10:00 a.m. on Saturday, May 18, at the Duke Wells HPER Gymnasium on the campus of Henderson State University, according to Principal David Maxwell. 

Those who are not able to be present can watch the ceremony live on the Arkadelphia High School Facebook page.

The Summa Cum Laude speech will be given by Mary Jane Adame-Hernandez, the daughter of Severiano Adame and Virginia Adame-Hernandez. Ms. Adame-Hernandez attends St. Mary’s Catholic Church. She is a member of the Arkadelphia High School girls’ soccer, volleyball and basketball teams. She is a member of the Beta Club and National Honor Society. 

The seniors chose Ashley Wesley, an AHS Business Education Teacher, to deliver the faculty challenge, which will be responded to by 2018-19 Student Council President, Caroline Woods Derby. 

Summa cum laude graduates have earned a GPA of 4.001 or better and a composite ACT score of 21 or better with no sub scores lower than 19. Summa cum laude graduates at the time of publication include the following: Mary Jane Adame-Hernandez, Kacie Erin Allen, Garrett Michael Collie, Samuel Armistead Coventry, Caroline Woods Derby, Hannah Elizabeth Fenocchi, Sumner Rose Huerkamp, Nicholas Aaron LeVar, Kaitlyn Faith Ochello, Owen Elliot Phillips, Alec Matthew Ruble, Diana Michelle Summerville, Victor Raymond Tademy, Joshua Brent Wallace, and Andrew Timothy Webb. 

Parents of these graduates and of those who achieve Magna cum laude (GPA of 3.750 to 4.000 and a composite ACT score of 20 or better with no sub score lower than 19), Cum laude (GPA of 3.500 to 3.749 and a composite ACT score of 19 or better with no sub score lower than 19), and/or Advanced Diploma status will present medallions to their children who have earned these distinctions. 

Senior class officers will direct the welcome, the Pledge of Allegiance, the introductions of Adame-Hernandez and Wesley, and the closing. Officers include Michael Leroy Evans III, President; Alec Matthew Ruble, Vice President; Sumner Rose Huerkamp, Secretary; Henry Lawson Hunley, Treasurer; and Addelyn Clair Groom, Reporter. 

Commencement will be opened by the AHS JROTC Color Guard. The AHS Band, under the direction of Jim Lloyd, will play the processional and the alma mater. Diplomas will be awarded by Dr. Jeanette Turner, acting superintendent of the Arkadelphia Public Schools, and Mr. David Maxwell, Principal of AHS. Assisting with the diplomas will be Ms. Cheryl Merk and Mr. Trent Smith, assistant AHS principals. 

Escorts for the Class of 2019 will be juniors who have earned the top grade points and include the following: Callaway Batson, Brynn Clark, Kristen Curtis, Olivia Dixon, Aisha Faiq, Madison Green, McKinley Green, Patrick Hayes, Lynli Lowry, Sydney Motl, Yebo Moyo, Cannon Turner and Cole Turner.