Search Site

This search form uses an instant search feature. As you type, search results will appear automatically below the search field. When you've entered you desired search terms use tab to navigate through the available results and hit enter to open the selected page or document.
Arkadelphia hosts Annual Back-to-School Celebration
Arkadelphia Public Schools
Wednesday, August 09, 2017

Arkadelphia Public Schools held its Annual Back-to-School Celebration on Tuesday, August 8, in the Garrison Center at Henderson State University.

Dr. Kenneth Taylor, Henderson State University Vice Provost and Graduate Dean, provided a welcoming statement and information regarding graduate opportunities at HSU, followed by a School Board Message from APSD School Board President Mr. Randy Turner. Mr. Leslie Wood, APSD Maintenance Supervisor, gave the invocation before all faculty and staff were treated to breakfast catered by Sodexo.

Continuing the ceremony, Mr. Stephen Bell, President and CEO of Arkadelphia Alliance and Area Chamber of Commerce, gave an update on the Sun Bio Material Company project, followed by announcements from Ms. Tammy Barger, District Business Manager, and Ms. Kimberly Ellison, representative of the Clark County Literacy Council.

Dr. Virginia Anderson, Director of Federal Programs, recognized new faculty and staff employed by the district for the 2017-18 school year. New classified staff members include: Rendi Currey, Nessa Miller, Sara Cherry, Sharon Ford, Davida Williams, Lynn Morgan, Lainie Thomason, Katherine McClure, and Zane Walton. New certified staff members include: Amy Taylor, Rebecca Haydon, Katie McGlone, Robin Jones, Wade Matlock, Jamie Hathcoat, John Ware, Drew Loe, Natalie Thomas, Julia Rawls, Kennedy Tillman, Rachel Greis, Heather Rash, Hayley Cole, Skye Lowe, Sarah Brawley, Caithy Gentry, and Anita Malcom.

In closing of the ceremony, Dr. Jeanette Turner, Director of Curriculum, announced the Classified Employees and Teachers of the Year.

Classified Employees of the Year:

Aiga Porter, Early Childhood Center Director

James Davis, Custodial and Maintenance Staff

B.C. Stanley, Office and Other Support Staff

Shane McBride, Transportation Staff

Penny Medley, Food Service Staff

*Stanley was selected as the overall District Classified Employee of the Year.

Teachers of the Year:

Sandi Tuttle, Perritt Primary School

Becky McBride, Central Primary School

Jodie Daniell, Peake Elementary School

Brandi Cotton, Goza Middle School

David Gustaveson, Arkadelphia High School

*Daniell was selected as the overall District Teacher of the Year.

Arkadelphia will host Open House for all schools on Thursday, August 10. The first day of school for students will be on Monday, August 14. School times for Open House are:

Peake Rosenwald – 5:30 p.m. to 6:30 p.m.

Perritt Primary School – 5:00 p.m. to 6:00 p.m.

Central Primary School – 6:00 p.m. to 7:00 p.m.

Peake Elementary School – 7:00 p.m. to 8:00 p.m.

Goza Middle School – 5:30 p.m. to 7:00 p.m.

Arkadelphia High School – 4:30 p.m. to 6:30 p.m.

Arkadelphia Public Schools serves more than 2,000 students in Clark County, Arkansas, ranging from 6-weeks-old through college- and career-readiness - and is home of the Arkadelphia Promise.

APS News